Reflection


I’m afraid
We are not in Narnia
Or in Neverland.
Our world is so real

That I couldn’t even
Have the courage
To tell you
How I love your eyes

When they’re staring
At the moon.
Or how I love your smile
When I could hear

The silent song of it.
I’d seen butterflies
Swaggering around you
On a moon-shadowed

Meadow. I’d seen
the nosy stars peering at you
Whenever you touch
the loveliest butterfly

On unhurried midnight.
I’d seen my wings
Bloom from my shoulder blades
In front of the mirror.

And in that reflection
I’d seen you slouching
On the loveseat, watching me
Loving my insecurities.

You smiled.
I traced your reflection
In the mirror, it’s all I’ve got
In this real world.

 
(for J.P.G.)

4 Comments

Filed under Love Poems

4 responses to “Reflection

  1. You’re some kind of poet. Awesome use of literature with modern day and ancient feeling love poem.

    Like

    • Many thanks! That means a lot coming from you, Ben. I really appreciate it (:

      Like

      • You’re welcome. Your poems are always entertaining to read as well as well-written. Entertainment value is something we always forget about when looking at writing, even though it is one of the most important aspects. Keep it up.

        Like

      • Aw! Thanks again for your wonderful comment, you really are too kind! I’m looking forward to reading more poems from you. May the force be with us. Cheers!

        Like

Leave a Reply

