The Book and the Lover

It all started from my favorite bookstore.
A glimpse of you suggested one thing:
It’s a love at first sight, growing each night.
And every day, with the book, I’m dreaming

I was living in your own enthralling world,
Spending the glorious nights gazing into your eyes,
But like every book, everything has its end,
And yet something in me continuously dies–

That hope, that light, that spark. But then
I started thinking that someone like you,
Same face, same heart, might exist in my own
World–that has forgotten its vibrant hue.

You’re the sun in the dark, I’m a wax light.
And for a million year, I have remained unlit,
Waiting for your eternal fire to touch me.
But like dusk and dawn, we will never meet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Love Poems

Leave a Reply

